Date Added : 27-12-2020

Resolution No. (295) (15/2020): "Ruling on Investing Part of an Endowed Land which is Unsuitable as Burial Ground"

Date: (16th of Rabi'ul-Akhir, 1442 AH), corresponding to (2/12/2020 AD).



All perfect praise be to Allah, the Lord of the Worlds; may His blessings and peace be upon our Prophet Mohammad and upon all his family and companions.

In its 13nth meeting held on the above date, the Board reviewed the letter No. 4/6/2/13262 sent from His Excellency the former Minister of Awqaf, Holy Sites and Islamic Affairs Dr. Abdulnaser Abulbasal. It reads as follows: Is it possible to invest part of the endowed land No. (100)-(7-Al-Wid al-Gharbi of al-Hashimiyah lands) on which An-No`man Bin Miqrin`s Mosque and an ancient graveyard are established ? It is worth pointing out that the part intended for investment is rocky ground, doesn`t have graves, and is unsuitable for burial. Moreover, this part is around 1000 square meters, located in a residential area, surrounded by several streets, and outside the Mosque`s wall. In addition, the municipality has closed this graveyard because this part, being rocky ground, is unsuitable for burial.

After careful consideration, the Board has arrived at the following decision:

Since this endowed land serves the purpose for which it was endowed in the first place, which is establishing the Mosque and burying the dead, then it is permissible to invest the rocky part, which is unsuitable for burial, and use the revenue for the benefit expected from this Waqf (Endowment). In addition, Resolution No. (23/2014) issued by the Board of Iftaa`, Research and Islamic Studies contains this same content. And Allah the Almighty knows best.



 Chairperson of Iftaa` Board,

Grand Mufti of Jordan,

Dr. Abdulkareem al-Khasawneh

Dr. Mohammad al-Khalaileh

Dr. Mahmoud al-Sartawi, Member

Sheikh Sa`eid Al-Hijjawi, Member

Dr. Majed al-Darawsheh, Member

Dr. Ahmad al-Hasanat, Member

Judge Khalid Woraikat , Member 

Prof. Adam Nooh Al-Qhodaat/Member

Dr. Amjad Rasheed/Member

Dr. Jamil Khatatbeh/Member

Dr. Mohammad Younis Al-Zou`bi/ Member